April 16, 2024


Truth Triumphs

Names of six metro stations changed to avoid confusion, to give local flavour

Bengaluru, March 24: Ahead of the inauguration of the metro line from KR Puram to Whitefield by the prime minister Narendra Modi on Saturday, Bangalore Metro Rail Corporation Limited (BMRCL) changed the names of the six out of 12 stations in the stretch. According to the officials from the metro the names were changed to give local flavour and the commuters can identify the stations with ease.

The new boards with changed names were put up at the stations on March 21.

The 13.71 km stretch of the Namm Metro line built under Phase 2 of the project at a cost of Rs 4,250 crores. The stretch will reduce the travel time from 1 hour to 24 minutes.

The commercial operations to begin from Sunday.

BMRCL received a request from the residents of Mahadevapura and pro Kannada organisations to change the names since January. “This is not the first time we are doing this. This will help the local residents in identifying the stations with ease. The commercial operations of the new stretch will start from March 26),” an official with BMRCL said.

While KR Puram metro station’s name has been changed to Krishnarajapura, Whitefield station’s name has been changed to Whitefield (Kadugodi). Mahadevapura has been renamed to Singayyappanapalya and Hoodi Junction has been changed to Hoodi. Likewise, Channasandra has been named to Hopefarm Channasandra and Kadugodi has been renamed as Kadugodi tree park.

Please follow and like us:

About Author