December 11, 2023


Truth Triumphs

Padma awards announced. First chief of defence staff – General Bipin Rawat posthumously gets the Padma Vibhushan

Bengaluru, Jan. 25:
The Union ministry of home affairs on Tuesday announced the prestigious and coveted Padma awards on the eve of the 73rd Republic Day.
Among the notable awardees, country’s first chief of defence staff (CDS) – the late General Bipin Rawat – was posthumously awarded the Padma Vibhushan, while
Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella and Alphabet and Google CEO Sundar Pichai, were awarded Padma Bhushan recipients.
Olympic gold medallist Neeraj Chopra was awarded for Padma Shri award.

Padma Awards one of the highest civilian Awards of the country, are conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.
The Awards are given in various disciplines fields of activities, viz- art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine. literature and education, sports, civil service, etc.

‘Padma Vibhushan’ is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service;

Padma Bhushan’ for distinguished service of high order and “Padma Shri” for distinguished service in any field. The awards are announced on the occasion of Republic Day every year.

These awards are conferred by the President of India at ceremonial functions which are held at Rashtrapati Bhawan usually around March April every year.

This year the President has approved conferment of 128 Padma Awards including 2 duo case (in a duo case, the Award is counted as one) as per list below. The list comprises 4 Padma Vibhushan, 17 Padma Bhushan and 107 Padma Shri Awards. 34 of the awardees are women and the list. also includes 10 persons from the category of Foreigners/NRI/PIO/OCI and 13 Posthumous awardees.

Following is the list of awardees.

Please follow and like us:

About Author