March 4, 2024


Truth Triumphs

All seven MLC candidates elects unopposed

Bengaluru, May 2: Legislative Council secretary and returning officer MK Vishalakshi on Friday announced that all the seven candidates in the fray for the biennial election to Karnataka Legislative Council, scheduled on June 3, were declared as elected unopposed.

They were slated to be elected by the Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs).

May 24 was the last to file nominations and May 25 the filed nominations were verified. The last day for withdrawal of nomination was June 27. Only seven members were in the fray for seven legislative council seats and hence they were declared elected unopposed.

With this declaration, BJP to gained majority in the Upper House as four out of the seven new members are from the ruling party, two from Congress and one for JD(S).

The seven candidates declared elected are, BJP’s vice-president and former deputy chief minister Laxman Savadi, party’s state secretaries Hemalatha Nayak and S Keshavaprasad, and President of SC Morcha Chalavadi Narayanaswamy:
M Nagaraju Yadav, former chairman of Bangalore Metropolitan Transport Corporation (BMTC) and K Abdul Jabbar, the President of KPCC’s minority cell and a former MLC represented Congress and T A Saravana, former MLC, were elected from JD(S).

The election was necessitated as the term of office of seven members expires on June 14. The seats will be falling vacant due to the retirement of MLCs – Laxman Savadi and Lahar Singh of BJP; Ramappa Timmapur, Allum Veerabhadrappa, Veena Achaiah S of Congress; and H M Ramesha Gowda and Narayana Swamy K V of JD(S).

Please follow and like us:

About Author