March 21, 2023


Truth Triumphs

Study Australia Showcase attracts students, education leaders in Bengaluru

Bengaluru, Feb. 17: In a first, the Australian Trade and Investment Commission (the Australian Government’s international trade promotion and investment attraction agency) organised a Study Australia Showcase in partnership with Indian Universities.

The showcase began with REVA University in Bengaluru today, where officials from the commission highlighted various initiatives introduced by the Australian government to support Indian students aspiring to study in Australia.

Over 1,000 students from various schools, colleges, and universities in and around Bengaluru attended the roadshow. 13 of Australia’s top Universities showcased their offerings at the roadshow. Australia is home to some of the best Universities in the world – 36 out of its 41 Universities are ranked in the top 1000 of the World in the recently published QS World University Rankings, with seven in the top 100.

The Australia’s Trade and Investment Commissioner Bengaluru, Denise Eaton, highlighted the new opportunities available to Indian students with the signing of Economic Cooperation and Trade Agreement (ECTA) between India and Australia in December last year. Eaton also spoke about too, India’s University Grants Commission (UGC) recently announced draft guidelines for foreign universities to set up branch campuses in India, which is another step towards bringing the Australian education closer to Indian students.

“The Study Australia Showcase is another step that shows the strength of the relationship between Australia and India. We work closely with Indian students to ensure they are making the best decisions when it comes to study in Australia. The Study Australia roadshow provides updated, reliable, and relevant information to students, parents, education counsellors, and heads of institutes,” said Eaton.

The Australian universities that participated at the Bengaluru Showcase were: University of Sydney, University of Queensland, Monash University, University of Technology – Sydney, Macquarie University, University of Tasmania, Griffith University, La Trobe University, Flinders University, James Cook University – Brisbane, Bond University, CQ University, and Melbourne Institute of Technology.

A total of 1,000 visas per year will be reserved for Indian students allowing recipients to study or receive training in Australia for up to four months.

Please follow and like us: